Board Members

Jessica Lisinski MBA, BSN, RN, CHPN


Jessica serves as the Director of Hospice and Palliative Care with Horizon Home Care and Hospice in Milwaukee, WI, overseeing the Lawlis Family Hospice, The Kathy Hospice, a large home hospice, a community based palliative consult program, and a unique model of hospice care delivery within Froedtert Hospital. Jessica is a Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse, ELNEC trainer, and is also a past President and Treasurer of the Greater Milwaukee Chapter of the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association.

Kristi Barfield BS, RN, CHPN

Kristi is the manager for Aurora at Home Hospice and Palliative Care in southeastern Wisconsin. She received her diploma degree in nursing from St. Luke’s School of Nursing, Fargo, North Dakota and her Bachelor of Science from Excelsior College, Albany, New York. Kristi has devoted her career to hospice and palliative care with over three decades of experience in a variety of roles including twenty-four years as a field clinician, and more recently as a clinical educator and hospice leader.  Kristi believes that our patients and families are the best teachers and continues to be humbled by the lessons they share.

Jessica Bumgarner NP

Jessica Bumgarner is board certified as a FNP-BC and currently is a Nurse Practitioner for Gundersen Hospice in La Crosse. She received her bachelors in nursing and masters in nursing from Indiana State University. She started her work in hospice in 2006 as their first LPN, then transitioned to an RN role where she worked as a case manager and then team lead before completing her master’s degree and becoming their first NP in Gundersen Hospice. Jessica is certified as a Ped-ELNEC trainer and is passionate about pediatric hospice and palliative care.

Kelly Cooke DO

Kelly Cooke has been the Medical Director of Palliative Care with ProHealth Care since 2013—prior to that she practiced in central Texas. She is board certified in Hospice and Palliative Medicine. Her palliative care interests lie in oncology, young adults and veterans.

Jim Deming MD

Jim was a family physician for 27 years where he served as medical director of a small community hospice for 15 years. In 2013 Jim moved to Eau Claire, WI where he became a full-time palliative care physician and served as hospice medical director with Mayo Clinic Health System. Jim has a special interest in sharing what he learned in palliative care with others and has experience with workshops to practice difficult communication.

Suzie Feuling RN, MS


Suzie is passionate about palliative / patient centered care and is pleased to serve PCNOW. She brings over 35 years of experience in healthcare, which includes 20 years of progressive healthcare leadership and nearly 10 years in executive operation, quality, and safety roles. Suzie is a registered nurse with her MS degree in organizational leadership and quality from Marian University.  She is certified in healthcare quality (CPHQ), patient safety (CPPS), Lean process improvement (green belt), change management, and is a TeamSTEPPS master trainer. 

Mary Jane Higgs NP

Mary Jane currently works at ProHealth Care with the palliative care team and meets with patients during their hospital admission. She is board certified as MSN, APRN, AGNP-C as well as Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Care NP. Mary Jane was fortunate enough serve as a member of a palliative care team as the RN in the early 2000’s when palliative care was in its infancy, and she has kept much of the same philosophy and support throughout her nursing career in various roles. In 2015, Mary Jane became an NP and has worked as a palliative care provider since then. She has worked with her teams to arrange and participate in community education and events including conferences, radio interviews, movie showings, educational panels, book clubs, workshops and educational sessions. Mary Jane has met with members of our state’s politicians and representatives for input on legislation that supports palliative care moving forward.

Tim Jessick DO

Past Chair

Timothy Jessick, DO – Dr. Jessick has been a Palliative Medicine Physician for over 12 years and practiced Family Medicine for over 13 years. Dr. Jessick received his Doctor of Osteopathy from Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine and his Bachelor of Science in Exercise Physiology from the University of Wisconsin in Madison. He is board certified in both Palliative Care and Family Medicine and is a member of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Care and the American Academy of Family Physicians. He is also a Clinical Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. Dr. Jessick has presented locally and nationally on the topics of palliative care, pain management, advance directives, mortality and end of life care, and he has participated in numerous initiatives related to these topics. Currently, Dr. Jessick is the Post Acute Care CMO at SSM Health. Dr. David Weissman and Dr. Jessick co-founded the Palliative Care Network of Wisconsin in 2016 and Dr. Jessick has served as the Chair of PCNOW and is still serving on the Board of Directors.

Sean Marks MD


Sean Marks MD has been on the PCNOW board of directors since 2016.  He is an associate professor in palliative medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin.  He is also the editor-in-chief of Fast Facts and Concepts and the program director for the MCW Hospice and Palliative Medicine physician fellowship program.  He lives in Shorewood, Wisconsin where a Milwaukee Bucks flag proudly flies over his family’s front porch.

Elena Sherr APSW, ACHP-SW

Vice Chair

Elena Sherr is an Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Social Worker. She is the Hospice Manager at Horizon Home Care and Hospice. She is passionate about issues of equality and accessibility. Elena facilitates trainings for new employees focused on the hospice philosophy and cultural sensitivity. Additionally, she provides education to current employees through the ELNEC program.

Jacob Werkheiser Reverend, MDIV, BCC

Jacob currently serves as a hospice chaplain at Zilber Family Hospice in Wauwatosa and as a Certified Educator Candidate with the Association for Clinical Pastoral Education through Advocate Aurora Health. In addition, he serves on the faculty of the Aurora Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship. Jacob is an ordained pastor in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and is endorsed for chaplaincy as a Board-Certified Chaplain with the Association for Professional Chaplains. Jacob brings years of personal and professional hospice experience as a congregational pastor, chaplain, and Educator to his role.